Hello. Sign In
Standards Store
MIL-STD-410 Revision E, January 25, 1991
Complete Document
Includes all amendments and changes through Cancellation Notice 2, September 18, 2001
Additional Comments: CNCL S/S BY AIA/NAS NAS 410
$34.00 USD
In Stock
Print  :
$37.00 USD
In Stock
Print + PDF :
$49.70 USD
You save 30%
In Stock
This standard establishes the minimum requirements for the qualification and certification for personnel involved in the application of nondestructive inspection (NDI) or nondestructive testing (NDT) personnel. These requirements include training, experience and examination.

This standard applies to personnel using NDI or NDT methods to accept materials, products, subsystems, components or systems for the Government, prime contractors or subcontractors. It also applies to those individuals directly responsible for the technical adequacy of the NDI and NDT methods used as well as those providing the technical training or supervision for NDI or NDT personnel. This standard is not intended to apply to individuals with administrative authority only over the above identified personnel or to research personnel developing technology for use by qualified and certified NDI or NDT personnel.

This standard contains detailed requirements for the applicable training, experience, and examination for the following methods:
    Liquid penetrant              (PT)
    Magnetic particle             (MT)
    Eddy current                  (ET)
    Ultrasonic                    (UT)
    Radiography                   (RT)
    Acoustic emission             (AE)
    Neutron radiography           (NRT)

This standard may apply to other NDI or NDT methods such as leak testing, thermography, holography, computed tomography, or any other method that can determine the acceptability or suitability for intended service of a material, part, component, subsystem, or system without impairment of the intended function. The requirements for personnel training, experience, and examination for these other methods shall be as established by the contracting agency and shall be in accordance with the guidelines established for the methods listed in 1.2.1.

The levels of qualification established by this standard are:
    Level I
    Level II
    Level III

The levels requiring certification in accordance with this standard are:
    Level I
    Level II
    Level III