Hello. Sign In
Standards Store


2018 Edition, January 1, 2018

Complete Document

Hazardous Materials/Weapons of Mass Destruction Response Handbook

View Abstract
Product Details
Document History

Detail Summary

Active, Most Current

Additional Comments:
Price (USD)
In Stock
Add to Cart

Product Details:

  • Revision: 2018 Edition, January 1, 2018
  • Published Date: January 2018
  • Status: Active, Most Current
  • Document Language: English
  • Published By: National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
  • Page Count: 1020
  • ANSI Approved: No
  • DoD Adopted: No

Description / Abstract:

The matrices shown here are designed to help stakeholders and users determine the correlation between what is offered in NFPA 472, Standard for Professional Competence of Responders to Hazardous Materials/Weapons of Mass Destruction Incidents, and in NFPA 1072, Standard on Hazardous Materials/ Weapons of Mass Destruction Response Personnel Professional Qualifications, and allows stakeholders and users to determine the best approach to meeting the needs of emergency response personnel when addressing hazardous materials incidents. Until recently, NFPA 472 was the “go-to” standard for response personal to hazardous materials/ weapons of mass destruction incidents.

This continues to be the case, using competence as the key factor for determining readiness for the responder. Competence is the combination of knowledge, skills, and ability of an individual to do a job effectively. A competency is a set of defined behaviors that provide a guide to enable the identification, evaluation, and continued professional development of employees who are required to perform in an accurate and effective manner within an assigned or specific role.

The Technical Committee on Hazardous Materials Response Personnel spent nearly 4 years developing NFPA 1072 in response to the growing need for an evaluation instrument for certification. This effort aligns chapters for awareness, operations, operations mission-specific, technician, and incident commander (Chapters 4–8 of NFPA 472) with the qualifications in NFPA 1072.

Qualification is work- or job-related knowledge, acquired through formal or informal education that is competency based, with skills and knowledge or abilities that are required to do a particular job in an accurate, efficient, and effective manner. These qualifications are based on national standards and are assessed in the workplace to verify that an individual is able to perform the task or achieve a level of performance specified in the job performance requirements (JPRs).

While there are subtle distinctions in competence and qualification, the knowledge, skills, and abilities for responders are established in NFPA 472 and evaluated through job performance reviews (JPRs) found in NFPA 1072.

Thus, the following matrices for awareness, operations, operations mission-specific, technician, and incident commander for hazardous materials/weapons of mass destruction incident response have been developed. Introduction