Hello. Sign In
Standards Store


1st Edition, June 2002

Complete Document

NAS Certification & Qualification of Nondestructive Test Personnel

Price (USD)
Secure PDF
Single User
In Stock
PDF + Print
In Stock
$100.80 You save 20%
Add to Cart

Product Details:

Description / Abstract:

PURPOSE.  This standard establishes the minimum requirements for the
qualification and certification of personnel involved in the application
of nondestructive testing (NDT), nondestructive inspection (NDI), or
nondestructive evaluation (NDE) personnel.  For this document NDI, NDT
and NDE will be referred to as NDT.  These requirements include
training, experience and examination.

APPLICABILITY.  This standard applies to personnel using NDT methods to
accept materials, products, subsystems, components or systems.  It also
applies to those individuals directly responsible for the technical
adequacy of the NDT methods used as well as those providing the
technical training for NDT personnel.  This standard is not intended to
apply to individuals with administrative authority only over the above
identified personnel or the research personnel developing technology for
use by qualified and certified NDT personnel.

COMMON METHODS.  This standard contains detailed requirements for the
applicable training, experience, and examination for the following

                    Liquid penetrant      (PT)
                    Magnetic particle     (MT)
                    Eddy current          (ET)
                    Ultrasonic            (UT)
                    Radiography           (RT)

OTHER METHODS.  This standard may apply to other NDT methods such as
acoustic emission, neutron radiography, leak testing, thermography,
holography, computed tomography, or any other NDT method that can be
used to determine the acceptability or suitability for intended service
of a material, part, component, subsystem, or system without impairment
of the intended function.  The requirement for personnel training,
experience, and examination for these other methods shall be as
established by the Cognizant NDT Organization.  Guidelines established
for the methods listed in 1.2.1 may be used.

LEVELS OF QUALIFICATION.  The levels of qualification established by
this standard are:

                    Trainee               Instructor
                    Level I               Auditor
                    Level II
                    Level III

LEVELS OF CERTIFICATION.  The levels requiring certification in
accordance with this standard are:

                    Level I
                    Level II
                    Level III